Goodbye 2015 and Hello 2016

This has been a curious year for me. It’s taught me to appreciate the little things. To value the people I have in my life, because when storms arise some will still be there. It’s taught me the meaning of family and how at times it’s a lot more than your biological family, that it could also include those close to me. I have seen struggle and I have witnessed success. I have witnessed folly and wisdom.
This year I have been taught plenty and rejected somethings I believed in years past and rejected new beliefs presented before me. It’s been a year of growth and development and friendships being tested time after time.

But then again, I was the genius who asked for a challenging year this time last year. I wanted challenges and opportunities for growth. I wanted to have my foundation rocked and built afresh. I’m also the guy that had the lyrics to one of my favourite songs “You Should Have Killed Me When You Had The Chance” as my display picture for a while.
And life answered by giving me just what I asked for in a way I would have never expected it to happen. That’s the funny thing about life, you can never predict how tomorrow will be and you are forced to accept each day as a beautiful and precious gift.

In addition to all this, 2015 has been a year where much happened in the world I live in. From students using the power of protest to hike the rising of university fees to a world where terror became an obsession for some. It has been a year that the world mourned and laughed and was united, even if the moment of unity was brief and soon filled with division because some lives seem to matter more than others. But that is not the point here.

 

So here’s to tomorrow.
The official start of a new year.
Ironically every new day is New Years Eve and New Years day all at once. My best friend today raised this point to me. It reinforces the very fact that every day is a gift and an opportunity.
So here’s to tomorrow and the start of 2016. To better days and lasting friendships and new opportunities.
Here’s to the best.

Thanks to everyone whose joined me on my journey into my world and read my blog. A special thanks to those who followed me and witnessed my growth and challenges. I look forward to seeing you all in the new year.

P_D

 

A Brand New You, Effective Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

